Skip to content
Arnolfini - est 1961

Installation: Dark Studio
Interactive Music Box: Reading Room
Sat 7 & Sun 8 Feb 10.00am – 6.00pm

Piano Migration IV is a kinetic sound sculpture made from a disembodied piano that responds to a video projection of birds landing on telegraph lines. The video acts as a musical score, with each bird triggering small devices to play the suspended piano. This is one of a series of works that use sound to explore migration and the travels of the artist’s family from Lithuania.

In a related piece in the Reading Room, you can play mappings of bird migration patterns through a winding music box. The artist will be present from 1pm – 2pm and 4pm – 5pm on both days to translate a journey of your choice into sound.