Skip to content
Arnolfini - est 1961

Presented in association with the Department of Music, University of Bristol.

Three new homegrown commissions sit alongside three celebrated international works by pioneering electroacoustic composers. All specialise in the use of electronics to sculpt and manipulate the sound of traditional instruments to create new sonic experiences.  Performed by UPROAR’s new music specialist musicians this is a programme of virtuosic work for anyone interested in the new frontiers of classical music and electronic sound.

This programme sees three new eight-minute works for large ensemble and live electronics from 3 Welsh composers Sarah Lianne Lewis, Bethan Morgan Williams and Andrew Lewis. These works sit alongside those of three international electroacoustic pioneers emerging from the ‘Spectral Movement’ in Paris, Tristan Murail, Fausto Romitelli and Kaija Saariaho.

Sarah Lianne Lewis: we watch it burn

Bethan Morgan-Williams: Devil’s Elbow

Andrew Lewis: Canzon in Double Echo

Tristan Murail: Winter Fragments

Kaija Saariaho: Lichtbogen

Fausto Romitelli: Professor Bad Trip: Lesson III


UPROAR is Wales’ new contemporary chamber ensemble, led by conductor Michael Rafferty and featuring some of the UK’s most accomplished musicians who specialise in playing new music. Together, they are passionate about introducing audiences to the most raw, adventurous and imaginative new music from Wales and the rest of the world.

More information about Bristol New Music here